School of Biomedical Sciences Postgraduate Research Day 2011

With the concerted effort of the Organizing Committee of the Graduate Student Association and the Graduate Education Team, the School of Biomedical Sciences Postgraduate Research Day 2011 was successfully held on 27 and 28 October 2011. This annual flagship event aims to serve as platform for our postgraduate students to interact with and learn from their peers and supervisors.

A total of 109 participants including our postgraduate students, teaching and research staff and non-SBS members joined this event. 31 posters covering topics of the five Thematic Research Programs (TRPs) were displayed during the first day of the event and among which the authors of the best 10 posters were invited to give an oral presentation on their projects on the second day to compete for various prizes. 

Congratulations go to the following prize winners for their wonderful presentations and excellent research work:

First PrizeMs. So Wing-YanProf. Leung Po-Sing
Second PrizeMs. Chen ElveProf. Kenneth K.H. Lee
Second PrizeMs. Lau On-ChaiProf. Yao Xiaoqiang
Third PrizeMr. Chan Lok-HeiProf. Kingston K.L. Mak
Third PrizeMs. Gu ShenProf. Chan Wai-Yee
Third PrizeMr. Yuen Man-LeukProf. Christopher H.K. Cheng
Merit PrizeMs. He XuanProf. Michael S.C. Tam
Merit PrizeMs. Ren Shunxiang NatalieProf. Cho Chi-Hin
Merit PrizeMs. Wu Ding-Lan Prof. Franky L. Chan
Merit PrizeMr. Xie HuiProf. Yung Wing-Ho
Students' Favourite Poster AwardMs. Wu Ding-LanProf. Franky L. Chan
Best Poster DesignMr. Hui Chin-WaiProf. John A. Rudd
Best Presentation SkillMr. Chan Lok-HeiProf. Kingston K.L. Mak

Our School would also like to extend our heartfelt appreciation to the following parties who have contributed significantly to the success of this event:

Organizing Committee of the Postgraduate Research Day 2011
Mr. Miu Kai-Kei (President), Mr. Chow Wing-Ho (Vice-President), Ms. Chung Wai-Yee (Vice-President & Design), Ms. Dan Xiuli (General Secretary), Mr. Ng Tsz-Chung (Technical Secretary), Mr. Hu Jiabiao (General Affairs Secretary), Ms. Yin Cuiming (General Affairs Secretary) and Ms. Zhang Li (Financial Secretary)

Professors Chan Wai-Yee, Woody W.Y. Chan, Hector S.O. Chan, Chen Yangchao, Cho Chi-Hin, Feng Bo, Ko Wing-Hung, Kwan Yiu-Wa, Francis F.Y. Lam, Kenneth K.H. Lee, Leung Po-Sing, Lin Ge, Kingston K.L. Mak, Ng Tzi-Bun, Wan Chao, Mary M.Y. Waye, Helen Wise, Xia Yin, Yao Xiaoqiang, John H.K. Yeung and Zhao Hui

Graduate Education Team
Professor Woody W.Y. Chan, Mrs. Carmen Lau and Ms. Mandy Chan

The program information, program book and photos taken on the Postgraduate Research Day can be downloaded below:
[Program book]  [Photo gallery]


Back To This Issue

Inauguration Ceremony of the CUHK Transgenic Core Service Centre (TCSC)
School of Biomedical Sciences Postgraduate Research Day 2011
Frontiers in Biomedical Sciences Seminar Series
Joint Symposium "Recent Advances in Clinical Genetics Using High Throughput Genomic Technologies"
1st CUHK International Symposium on Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
Joint Seminar on "Opportunities for Industry-Academia Collaboration: A Win-win"
SBS Christmas Party 2011
Publication of SBS Annual Report 2010-2011

Prof. Wan Chao being Awarded the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) Grant - Key Program
Prof. Yung Wing-Ho elected as Member of the Council of the Chinese Neuroscience Society
Dr. Ma Xin received the Best Oral Presentation Award at the 11th Physiology Conference for Zhang Xijun Young Scholars organized by the Chinese Association for Physiological Sciences

Visit of Delegates from Cornell University, U.S.A. and the City University of Hong Kong
Delegation Visit to Jinan University
Return Visit of Robert Gordon University, U.K.
Delegation Visit to Guangzhou
Delegation Visit from The Ministry of Health of China
Visit of CAE Academician
The 4th Guangzhou International Conference on Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine
Delegation Visit from Zhejiang University

Relocation of the School of Biomedical Sciences to Area 39

Past Issue