School of Biomedical Sciences Postgraduate Research Day 2015

With the collaborative efforts of the Organizing Committee of the SBS Postgraduate Research Day 2015, the SBS Postgraduate Student Association (PSA) and the Graduate Education Office, the SBS Postgraduate Research Day 2015 was successfully held on 12th and 13th November 2015. This annual flagship event has been serving as an excellent platform for our postgraduate students to share their achievements with their peers and supervisors since the establishment of the School six years ago.

This year, a team from Kunming Institute of Zoology (KIZ), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) comprising 12 postgraduate students and 5 professors took part in the poster and oral presentations. There were more than 200 participants including our postgraduate students, teaching and research staff members, and our local and overseas guests joining the event this year.  The total number of poster displays at the first day of the event was 85, which was ever-increasing since the launch of this annual event in 2010.  The authors of the best 13 posters were invited to give an oral presentation on their projects on the second day to compete for various prizes.
Congratulations go to the following prize winners for their wonderful presentations and excellent research work:




First PrizeTAM Tsz KwanProf. SHUM Sau Wun Alisa
First PrizeSU Lingyan (KIZ)Prof. YAO Yonggang (KIZ)
Second PrizeWU Ka ChunProf. KE Ya
Second PrizeYAN MingfeiProf. CHAN Man Lok Andrew
Second PrizeLI Hao (KIZ)Prof. HU Xintian (KIZ)
Third PrizeHUANG TaidaProf. CHAN Wood Yee
Third PrizeLI LuProf. CHAN Wai Yee
Third PrizeLI Xin (KIZ)Prof. ZHOU Jumin (KIZ)
Merit PrizeHUANG YuhongProf. HUANG Yu
Merit PrizeLI WenlingProf. MAK King Lun Kingston
Merit PrizeLI ZhichaoProf. YAO Xiaoqiang
Merit PrizeLU LiProf. WAN Chao
Merit PrizeXU FeiyueProf. CHEN Yangchao

Our School would also like to extend our heartfelt appreciation to the following members who contributed significantly to the success of this event:

Organizing Committee of SBS Postgraduate Research Day 2015:

Mr. LIAN Wei (President)                    Mr. LIU Hailong (Vice President)
Mr. LIU Ziran (Vice President)             Ms. PAN Tiantian (Vice President)
Ms. CHEN Xinmeng (Member)             Ms. CHUNG Cheuk Yiu Tenny (Member)
Mr. GAO Weijie (Member)                   Mr. HE Yisheng (Member)
Ms. LI Jing (Member)                         Ms. LI Mingyue (Member)
Ms. LI Xingyu (Member)                     Ms. LI Yuejiao (Member)
Mr. MA Taiyang (Member)                  Mr. SHI Mai Leon (Member)
Mr. SONG Wencong (Member)            Ms. WAN Tse Yau Angel (Member)
Mr. WANG Mingqiang (Member)          Ms. WANG Yi (Member)
Ms. XIE Ting (Member)                      Mr. YANG Zhiyuan (Member)
Ms. ZHAO Qiannan, Maggie (Member) Ms. ZHENG Xiaochang (Member)
Ms. ZHU Yifei (Member)


Adjudicators from SBS, CUHK:
Prof. CHAN Leung Franky                Prof. LEE Ka Ho Kenneth
Prof. CHAN Man Lok Andrew            Prof. LEUNG Po Sing
Prof. CHAN Sun On                         Prof. MAK King Lun Kingston
Prof. CHAN Wai Yee                        Prof. NG Tzi Bun
Prof. CHAN Wood Yee                     Prof. SHUM Sau Wun Alisa
Prof. CHENG Sze Lok Alfred             Prof. TSUI Kwok Wing Stephen
Prof. CHEUNG Chi Kwan Vincent      Prof. WAN Chao
Prof. CHEUNG Wing Tai                   Prof. WAN Chi Cheong David
Prof. FENG Bo                                Prof. WAYE Miu Yee Mary
Prof. HUANG Yu                             Prof. XIA Yin
Prof. JIANG Xiaohua                       Prof. YU Siu Bun Sidney
Prof. KWAN Yiu Wa                         Prof. YUNG Wing Ho
Prof. LAM Fu Yuen Francis               Prof. ZHAO Hui

Adjudicators from KIZ, CAS:

Prof. CHEN Ceshi           Prof. HUANG Jingfei
Prof. KONG Qingpeng     Prof. ZHENG Yongtang
Prof. SHI Peng 

Graduate Education Office:

Prof. CHAN Wood Yee Woody
Ms. CHAN Mei Tak Mandy        Ms. LAU Liu Yin Yi Carmen
Ms. NG Sui Ching Nicole

Ms. CHING Tak Man Janis       Mr. WANG Zitian        Mr. WANG Mingqiang

[Program Book]  [Photo Gallery]

Group photo of the SBS Postgraduate Research Day 2015

Prof. Dennis Y.M. LO, Associate Dean (Research) of the CUHK Faculty of Medicine, gives an opening remark

Prof. CHAN Wai-yee, Director of SBS, gives a welcoming speech

Snapshot taken during the SBS Postgraduate Research Day 2015

Snapshot taken during the SBS Postgraduate Research Day 2015

Snapshot taken during the SBS Postgraduate Research Day 2015

Back To This Issue

The Academic Symposium on Adolescent Mental Health and Disorders 2015
School of Biomedical Sciences Postgraduate Research Day 2015
The 23rd Annual Conference of the Hong Kong Institution of Science
5th CUHK International Symposium on Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
SBS Christmas Party 2015
Launch of the New BSc in Biomedical Sciences Programme
Orientation Day for Undergraduate Admissions 2015 and Press Conference for the BSc Programme in Biomedical Sciences
Participation in the Teaching & Learning Innovation EXPO 2015
Participation in 2015 CUHK Alumni Homecoming
Seminar on Animal Experimentation and Ethics at The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Prof. Alfred S.L. Cheng received the "Young Researcher Award 2014" by The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Prof. Fung Kwok-pui being awarded Emeritus Professorship

Visit of the Independent Schools Foundation (ISF) Academy
Delegation Visit of the Key Middle Schools in the Mainland China
Visit of University of Liverpool, United Kingdom
Meeting with the Commissioner of State Intellectual Property Office
Delegation Visit from Chiang Mai University, Thailand
Participation in "Guangdong – Hong Kong Postgraduate Research Exchange and Symposium on Regenerative Medicine 2015"
The 8th Guangzhou International Conference on Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine and the 4th Annual Conference of Chinese Society for Regenerative Cell Biology, and Hong Kong and Guangzhou International Conference on Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine

Third Director's Cup - SBS Badminton Tournament
Dr. GU Shen Linda, Ph.D. graduate (2013) received the Outstanding Postdoctoral Award by the Association of Chinese Geneticists in America (ACGA)
Dr. HU Fan, Ph.D. Graduate (2012)

Past Issue