Fourth Director's Cup - SBS Badminton Tournament

Filled with lots of excitement and fun, the Fourth Director's Cup - Badminton Tournament organized by the School of Biomedical Sciences (SBS) Postgraduate Student Association (PSA) was successfully held on 24 September 2016.

This year, a total of six teams formed by SBS students and staff members competed for the "Director's Cup".  The champion trophy was once again generously sponsored by Prof. Chan Wai-yee, the School Director. After rounds of intense competition, the following teams won various awards of the Tournament:

"Cancer Biology & Experimental Therapeutics (CBET) 2" Team comprising Ms. Cao Ye, Mr. John J.J. Chen, Ms. Phyllis Chen, Ms. Dai Congling, Ms. Guo Jinghui, Mr. Huang Biao, Mr. Wang Bin, Mr. Jonathan Z.H. Weng, Mr. Xu Zhenyu and Ms. Tina J.T. Zhang

First runner-up
"STAFF" Team comprising Ms. Han Xinyu, Ms. Ariel L. Li, Mr. Liao Jinyue, Mr. Alfred C.S. Luk, Mr. Rao Shitao and Ms. Yin Liangying

Second runner-up
"CBET 1" Team comprising Ms. Chen Xinmeng, Mr. Cheung Chun, Ms. Fiona Hartgring, Mr. Lian Wei, Mr. Shi Mai, Ms. Wang Zhangting, Mr. Wu Xu, Mr. Xu Liangliang and Ms. Zeng Xuezhen

As an annual sports event of the School, the Director's Cup Badminton Tournament aims to establish a closer bonding among SBS members. With the launch of our new BSc Biomedical Sciences programme, our first cohort of undergraduate students was also invited to join this enjoyable event with our postgraduate students and staff. The SBS PSA would like to express their deepest gratitude to all participants, judges and helpers for their active participation and help, as well as to School members for their unfailing support in this event.


Group photo at the Fourth Director’s Cup Badminton Tournament

Champion: CBET 2 team

First runner-up: STAFF Team

Second runner-up: CBET 1 Team

Back To This Issue


Cross-Strait Symposium on Biomedical Sciences cum SBS Postgraduate Research Day 2016
CUHK Medicine 35th Anniversary Distinguished Lecture Series: Dr. Constantine Stratakis and Prof. Natalia Prevarskaya
Mini-conference and Workshops on Advancement in 3D Scaffold and μContact Fluidic Printings in Regenerative Medicine
Participation in the 35th Anniversary of the Faculty of Medicine Gala Dinner
SBS Christmas Party 2016
1st Meeting for the Advisory Board on Students' Career and Development
Press Conferences Introducing New Research Findings by SBS Members
Inauguration Ceremony for Biomedical Sciences Students
Orientation Day for Undergraduate Admissions 2016
Participation in the Teaching & Learning Innovation EXPO 2016
Seminar on Animal Experimentation and Ethics at CUHK


Establishment of "Dr. Clement Chan Scholarship"
Dr. Zhou Jingying received the "National Scholar Award" in the United European Gastroenterology Week 2016
Mr. Yan Mingfei, a Year 4 Ph.D. student winning the "Best Oral Presentation Award" in the Frontier in Cancer Science 2016


Visit of Prof. Wendy Erber, University of Western Australia
1st Academic Committee Meeting of Ministry of Education Key Laboratory for Regenerative Medicine (The Chinese University of Hong Kong – Jinan University)
Delegation Visit from The University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
Delegation Visit from Guangdong Hospital of Traditional Chinese Medicine
Visit from Korea University, South Korea
Signing of the Memorandum of Understanding on the establishment of The Chinese University of Hong Kong – University of Southampton Joint Laboratory for Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine
Visit from Japanese International School, Hong Kong
Delegation Visit from Peking University, China
Guangdong-Hong Kong Postgraduate Research Exchange and Symposium on Regenerative Medicine 2016
The 9th Guangzhou International Conference on Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine and the 5th Annual Conference of Chinese Society for Regenerative Cell Biology


Fourth Director's Cup - SBS Badminton Tournament
Sophie S.S. Liu, Ph.D. Graduate

Past Issue