Delegation Visit to Chinese Academy of Sciences Shanghai Branch

Led by Prof. Henry Wong, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, a delegation comprising Prof. Wai-Yee Chan, SBS Director; Prof. Ge Lin; Prof. W. H. Yung; Prof. Ke Ya, together with Prof. C. Y. Ng, Dean of Science; Prof. A. T. Ahuja, Chairman, Department of Imaging and Interventional Radiology; Ms. Samantha Wong, Office of Academic Links (China) et al, visited the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) Shanghai Branch between 10 and 11 January 2011, to discuss issues arising from the "CAS Shanghai Branch – CUHK Joint Collaborative Framework".

On 10 January 2011, the delegation visited different research units of CAS (Shanghai). Representatives of our School paid a visit to the Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica (SIMM), the Institute of Neuroscience, and the Shanghai Institutes for Biological Sciences (SIBS) to talk about future research collaboration. On 11 January 2011, the delegation attended a conclusive meeting hosted by Prof. Zhi-Yuan Zhu, Vice President of Chinese Academy of Sciences Shanghai Branch.

Well before forming the CAS Shanghai Branch – CUHK Joint Collaborative Framework, Prof. Ge Lin of our School has been collaborating with Prof. Yang Ye, Associate Director of SIMM, for several years. Apart from the letter of intent previously signed on 23 December 2009, both parties developed in late 2010 a proposal on establishing the "Joint Research Laboratory for Promoting Globalization of Traditional Chinese Medicine" in order to formalize the collaboration.  Another delegation to be led by Prof. Joseph Sung, Vice-Chancellor, together with Prof. Henry Wong, Prof. Tai-Fai Fok, Dean of Medicine, Prof. Wai-Yee Chan, Prof. Ge Lin et al, will pay a follow-up visit to the CAS Shanghai Branch by end of March 2011.

Back To This Issue

Visit of the Scientific Advisory Committee
Experience-Sharing Lunch "Commercialization of Biomedical Inventions"

Appointment of Prof. Wai-Yee Chan as Honorary Professor at Jinan University
Prof. Huang Yu being Awarded the Ministry of Education (MOE) Higher Education Outstanding Scientific Research Output Awards 2010 - Natural Science Award
Six Teachers received the Teachers of the Years Award 2009/10, Faculty of Medicine
Prof. Christopher H.K. Cheng being appointed as member of the 23rd Comparative Physiology Committee of The Chinese Physiological Society

Representatives of the School attended "The 1st China-Hong Kong Academic Forum on Cancer and Microenvironment"
Agreement Signing and Opening Ceremony of the "Joint Research Laboratory for Promoting Globalization of Traditional Chinese Medicines"
Visit of Delegates from Shanghai Medical College of Fudan University
Delegation Visit from the Centre for Science and Technology Development Ministry of Education (MOE)
Prof. Rainer W. Guillery from Oxford University visited the School of Biomedical Sciences
Return Visits to the Robert Gordon University (U.K.) and University of Southampton (U.K.)
Delegation Visit of the 4th Military Medical University
Delegation Visit to Chinese Academy of Sciences Shanghai Branch

People Portrait - Prof. Chao Wan, Assistant Professor
People Portrait - Dr. Rebecca Lee, Instructor
New Faces

Briefing Sessions - MSc/PgD in Genomics and Bioinformatics
School of Biomedical Sciences Research Day 2011

Past Issue