The Chinese University of Hong Kong
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
May 01, 2019 Volume 156
Office of Academic Links(China)
Strategic Outreach Trips

Vice-Chancellor of CUHK Leads Outreach Trips to Hangzhou and Shanghai

Professor Rocky Tuan, Vice-Chancellor of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) led a university delegation to Shanghai and Hangzhou on 28 – 29 April to visit Zhejiang University (ZJU), Fudan University (FDU) and Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU).  The visit realized various collaboration projects of enhancing academic collaboration and bolstering unity with partner universities in the two regions.


The delegation comprised Professor Fok Tai-fai and Professor Chan Wai-yee, Pro-Vice-Chancellors of CUHK; Professor Wong Suk-ying, Associate Vice-President; Professor Qin Ling, Department of Orthopaedics and Traumatology; Professor Megan Ho, Department of Biomedical Engineering; Professor Vivas Chan, Institute for Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine; and Ms. Wing Wong, Director of Academic Links (China).  They were warmly received by leaders of the three universities including Professor Xu Ningsheng and Professor Chen Zhimin, President and Vice-President of FDU; Professor Lin Zhongqin and Professor Xu Xuemin, President and Vice-President of SJTU; Professor Wu Zhaohui, President of ZJU, along with faculty members of various fields.


CUHK representatives discussed a range of collaborative plans with the partners.  At the meeting with ZJU members, both sides exchanged ideas to strengthen alliance collaboration and develop joint supervision programmes.  During their visit to FDU, CUHK members organized a research seminar to introduce recent research works and share ideas on cooperation opportunities in the field of medicine with representatives of FDU.  Visits were paid to relevant laboratories, and discussions were held on collaboration progress under the China-UK Humanities Alliance for Higher Education, University College Alliance and the Shanghai-Hong Kong Development Institute.  A collaboration agreement was signed by the two universities on joint training in master degree programme.  CUHK and FDU will collaborate to offer the joint training scheme in geography and tourism studies.  At SJTU, CUHK members exchanged views on collaboration in fields of medical science when meeting with SJTU members from School of Medicine.  Professor Tuan and President Lin renewed the university-level collaboration agreement on behalf of the two universities. 


ZJU, FDU and SJTU are key partner universities of CUHK.  Over the years, CUHK has maintained close ties with the universities, launching a wide level of projects in aspects comprising research innovation, student interflow, alliance collaboration and joint programmes.  This visit contributed to the formulation of new directions of partnership development, consolidating the existing collaborative efforts of CUHK in enhanced ties for future collaborations.

Representatives of CUHK and ZJU discuss collaboration issues

Professor Rocky Tuan (left), Vice-Chancellor of CUHK presents a souvenir to Professor Ng Zhaohui, President of ZJU

Professor Rocky Tuan (left at front row), Vice-Chancellor of CUHK signs a collaboration agreement with President Xu Ningsheng of FDU to co-initiate the Dual Degree Master Programme

President Xu Ningsheng (middle) of FDU receives the delegation of CUHK

CUHK members including Professor Fok Tai-fai (fifth from left), Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Professor Wong Suk-ying (fourth from left), Associate Vice-President visit FDU

CUHK delegates meet with leaders of SJTU and professors of their School of Medicine

CUHK and SJTU renew the university-level collaboration agreement

:: Back to This Issue
:: Strategic Outreach Trips
:: Partnership and Collaboration
:: Linkage Incoming Visits
:: Student Interflow Programmes
:: Applications for Exchange Funds
:: Latest Academic Exchange Agreements
:: Forthcoming Events

Please send enquiries,
suggestions and contributions to

Contributions should be sent to the office by the 22nd day before the issue month.


Copyright 2023. Office of Academic Links (China), The Chinese University of Hong Kong. All rights reserved.