Dec 2022     Issue 20
Professor Irwin King honoured with 2021 INNS Dennis Gabor Award

Professor Irwin King from the Department of Computer Science and Engineering was honoured with the 2021 International Neural Network Society (INNS) Dennis Gabor Award (A Lifetime Contribution Award) at the International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (IJCNN2022). The conference was part of the IEEE World Congress on Computational Intelligence (WCCI2022) in Padova, Italy. 

The INNS Dennis Gabor Award is given in recognition of exceptional contributions to neural network engineering applications – more specifically, outstanding work in relation to machine learning theory and applications in social computing. Past recipients include renowned scholars such as Shun-ichi Amari, Tomaso Poggio, Teuvo Kohonen, Vladimir Vapnik, Robert Hecht-Nielsen, Nikola Kasabov, Mitsuo Kawato, Derong Liu, and Risto Miikkulainen.

The INNS is the oldest premier organisation for individuals interested in the theoretical and computational understanding of the brain and applying that knowledge to develop new and more effective forms of machine intelligence. Formed in 1987 by leading scientists in the Artificial Neural Networks (ANN) field, it currently has more than 1,000 members comprising researchers, academics, industry professionals, and students from around the world.
Past Issue      
Contact Us
Subscribe    Email to friend    Unsubscribe
Copyright © 2024.
All Rights Reserved. The Chinese University of Hong Kong.