May 2017     Issue 4
Honoring 25 Distinguished Alumni in Engineering

At the annual award presentation, we were proud to honour 25 distinguished Engineering alumni whose achievements in their professional fields have made a remarkable impact on the University and society. The awarded alumni come from different fields and have set very good examples to the Faculty. With a history of 25 years, we hope our future generations will be enlightened to make a difference with their engineering skills and knowledge. 

The awards were given out at the Faculty Annual Award Presentation Ceremony which was officiated by Dr. CHAN Yau Nam Ian, Director and General Manager of Ping Shan Enterprise Co Ltd, and Chairman of the Federation of Hong Kong Chiu Chow Community Organizations. Over 300 guests, alumni, students and staff members attended and shared the joy of the recipients.

The selection panel was chaired by Prof. YAO Chi-chih Andrew, Distinguished Professor-at-Large of CUHK.  Members of the panel included Prof. CHING Pak Chung, Department of Electronic Engineering, Prof. YEUNG Wai Ho Raymond, Department of Information Engineering, Prof. YAM Yeung, Department of Mechanical and Automation Engineering, and Prof. WONG Kam Fai, Department of Systems Engineering and Engineering Management.

The list of those honoured as Distinguished Alumni is as follows (in alphabetical order of surnames):

Prof. Cliff C. K. CHAN
Chairman, TeleEye Founders' Charity Foundation Ltd
for his contribution to video surveillance technology and technology transfer

Mr. CHAU Stephen
Chief Technology Officer, SmarTone
for his contribution to the development of mobile communications in Hong Kong

Prof. CHING Wai Ki
Department Head and Professor, Department of Mathematics, The University of Hong Kong
for his leadership in mathematics education and contribution to research in stochastic modeling and matrix computations

Prof. CHOI Tsan Ming Jason
Professor of Fashion Business, Institute of Textiles and Clothing, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
for his contribution in operations management, especially in supply chain management for fashion business operations

Dr. DAI Ruoli Tristan
Co-Founder and Chief Technology Officer, Noitom Ltd.
for his contribution to motion capturing technology and leadership in the relevant industries

Dr. HE Kaiming
Research Scientist, Facebook
for his contribution to the advancement of the art and science of artificial intelligence

Prof. HO King Choi
Professor, College of Engineering, University of Missouri, USA
for his research and educational contribution to signal processing and wireless networks

Dr. LAM Hiu Fung Alan
Chief Executive Officer, Sengital Limited
for his contribution to the innovation and technology industry and to entrepreneurship education

Prof. LAU Chong Fuk
Professor and Division Head, Department of Philosophy, CUHK
for his excellence in teaching and research in German philosophy, a field beyond his original training in engineering

Mr. LEE Wai Kwong
Chief Executive Officer, ASM Pacific Technology Ltd.
for his leadership in the electronic industry

Mr. LEE Ying Ho Tim
Co-founder and CEO, QFPay
for his contribution to the development of mobile payment technology in China

Ms. LEE Yuk Chun Eppie
Senior MI Manager - Business Process Control Asia (Finance - COO), HSBC
for her leadership in the banking sector and contribution to the community, including areas such as charity, education and environment

Mr. LEUNG Kin Man Michael, MH
Chief Information & Operations Officer, China CITIC Bank International Limited
for his contribution to IT development in Hong Kong

Mr. NG Hin Kwong Benson
Partner, Ernst and Young
for his contribution to information systems analysis and design in the international business sector

Mr. NG Kwok Sing Aldous
CEO, Unissoft Technology Co.Ltd.
for his contribution to the development of information and data management technology in Hong Kong

Prof. SUN Dong
Chair Professor and Head, Department of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
for his contribution to robot-aided manipulation of biological cells

Dr. TAM Wai Ho Samson
Founder and Chairman, Group Sense Ltd.
for his leadership in the electronic industry and contribution to the development of IT in Hong Kong

Mr. TONG James
Director of Public Affairs, John Swire & Sons (H.K.) Ltd.
for his leadership in aviation and contribution to the tourism and retail industries of Hong Kong

Dr. WONG Chak Kei
Managing Director, Societe Generale Corporate & Investment Banking
for his leadership in the banking industry and contribution to society

Mr. WONG Kwan Wai Sammy
Head of Operating, West Region, MTR
for his contribution to metro subway transportation in Hong Kong

Prof. WONG Pak Kin
Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Surgery, Department of Biomedical Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University, USA
for his contribution to engineering research and education in translational laboratory science and technology for life sciences and medicine

Prof. WONG Tak Sing
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Wormely Family Early Career Professor in Engineering, Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University, USA
for his contribution to the field of biologically inspired surface nanoengineering

Mr. WONG Wai Kay Ricky
Chairman, Hong Kong Television Network Limited
for his leadership in the information and communication industry

Dr. XU Yabo Arber
Chief Executive Officer, Interactive Data Technology Ltd (IDT)
for his contribution to big data technology

Prof. YANG Yang
Director of Key Laboratory of Wireless Sensor Network and Communication,
Director of Shanghai Research Center for Wireless Communications
for his contribution to wireless communications

For video highlights and the album, please visit

WONG Kam Fai
Associate Dean (External Affairs)
Faculty of Engineering
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Past Issue      
Contact Us
Subscribe    Email to friend    Unsubscribe
Copyright © 2018.
All Rights Reserved. The Chinese University of Hong Kong.